Jersey Boys

When I was a kid, pop music was rock and rock.  Bill Haley and the Comets had changed the afce of music and kids of my era bopped along to the new sound.

I was a little young to bop too seriously, but I enjoyed watching my older cousins doing so. I envied their poodle skirts and rope petticoats.  I longed to be able to do the jive the way they did it, especially the bit where the boy throws the girl around his shoulders or up into the air. Six O’Clock Rock was one the most popular television programmes for young people in the early sixties here in Australia. It featured local artists performing covers of the US hits and, of course, some of their own material.

It was at about this time, 1962-ish, that I first heard the unusual, amazing voice of Frankie Valli leading the Four Seasons.

Unknown-1

On Saturday, my husband and I went to the movies for our ‘Date Night’. We saw the movie ‘Jersey Boys’.

It was wonderful to sit and listen to all those wonderful songs again. Peter and I were immediately transported back to our youth. Each song brought back memories of times spent with friends, ex-boyfriends/girlfriends, hot summer afternoons, barbecues on the beach etc.  Music has such a power on our senses and minds. The first few bars of a melody are enough to bring smiles or tears. Isn’t that wonderful?

Directed by Clint Eastwood, the movie follows the rise to stardom of four young men, with particular focus on the relationship between Frankie Valli and Tommy DeVito. I had to laugh at the scene in Frankie’s home where his mother had a picture frame on the wall of the living room. On one side was a photo of the Pope and on the other, a smiling Frank Sinatra. The two obviously held equal importance in the life of Mrs Castelluccio.

The list of songs is longer than I had thought. I downloaded many of them from iTunes when we came home and have been playing them loudly each day as I do the housework. My housekeeping skills benefit greatly from music, it seems.

My favourite part of the movie was the ending.  It was like a stage musical’s finale with the whole cast perfuming together – ‘Oh What a Night’.  It sent the audience out of the theatre dancing – or maybe that was just Pete and I – but many people were singing along.  I really enjoyed the film although you do have overlook the bad language.

Here’s the trailer.

The Four Seasons were part of my youth and I am glad that their music still enlivens my spirit today.  Play on, Jersey Boys!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Jersey Boys

  1. The Four Seasons definitely provided the background to much of my teen years. I have vivid recollections of riding my little 125cc Vespa to the local coffee bar, where I would sit and drink hot milk (yeah, really) to the strains of Rag Doll, Let’s Hang On and Big Girls Don’t Cry. Good days!

    1. I liked ‘Can’t Take My Eyes off You’ for the slow build up and then the sledgehammer chorus bit. Bob Gaudio…genius!
      Hot milk? Really? I would have expected a malted milk at the very least from a Vespa rider, Keith.

Leave a Reply

